Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Still sick after cure! 6 years 8 months ago #25164

• Bern
  • Bern's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 6
Hi out there!
I'm new to all this & desperate for answers...
I'm 12+ months clear of the virus but still sick.
Anyone out there in a similar situation?
I would appreciate any help, advice or just to know I'm not alone in this would be a bonus for me...
Please respond..
Bern
The following user(s) said Thank You: Gaj

Still sick after cure! 6 years 8 months ago #25165

• DrJames
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 7263
Hello Bern,

I'm sorry to hear that. While it is possible that it is related to treatment, it's probably more likely to relate to there being something else going on.

This really requires a full and detailed consultation.

I guess the first thing is an outline of what you were like before treatment, during treatment and after.

Medical problems/

Medications/

What exactly is going on now?

Certainly, you do need a full set of routine bloods. Have any been done? Is so what, and can you share the results.
YMMV
The following user(s) said Thank You: Gaj

Still sick after cure! 6 years 8 months ago #25167

• Bern
Thank you Dr Freeman for your response.
My recent fibroscan showed F3 fibrosis (& M3?? Can't remember the other letter now...) & my LFT bloods still show elevated AST, ALT & Gamma GT enzymes. It seems that though virus free, my liver damage is still impacting my health. I also have PCT that getting rid of HepC didn't affect. I have a Bard Power Port in my chest for venous access as my high iron levels require frequent venesection & I have poor veins.
I was diagnosed with HepC in 2009 after suffering years of poor health :-
Chronic fatigue, chronic pain, weakness in limbs, confusion, etc, etc.
It seems that my foolish experimentation with Iv drugs (twice) gave me the virus in 1980 & I didn't know....