Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Starting sovaldi and declatasvir geno 2b 7 years 11 months ago #14130

• Juen
  • Juen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 18
HI
This is my first time on just about any forum!!! I have Hep c Geno 2b fibro scan 6 , viral load 1, 420, 000, log 6.15

I am just starting my hep c meds , 2 nd week April 2016, with the 12 weeks to go , -using solvadi and declatisvir,

-and I have sourced the meds today from a compounding chemist, who made them into capsules.

I am very thankful for the help from hep c forum, and hep c club generally, and gp2u doctors and prefered pharmacists , especially, - who assisted me with excellent information , giving me the confidence to decide on which treatment and how to go about sourcing treatment meds.

If anyone is confused or feeling thwarted, try gp2u! -* I put off calling them for weeks due to cost , but it ended up being the best support , contact , and decision yet.

Today, I was able to action and source the alternative, often mentioned as having less side effects i.e declatisvir /solvadi, after a month of frustration , trapped by lack of funds and conservative medical practitioners, who could only advise that the ' only option' for me was the Australian pbs choice for hep c geno 2, -solvadi and ribavirin.

( I was concerned about possible worse side effects from ribavirin)

Saying that, if there had been no other choice really, and the cost prohibitive, I would have been humbled and grateful still to have any treatment rather than none (and so low in cost, on pbs and or health care card) and so would have bite the solvadi/ribarvirin bullet!! *I am aware this combo does clear hep c very well for many geno 2.

As there are not many hep c geno 2's apparently , and this drug combo solvadi/declatisvir for geno 2 not exactly standard-as yet in OZ , I plan to share the journey re side effects and outcome, which I hope is helpful to others on their similar journey ☺

Regards Juen