• Page:

TOPIC:

The Patent Laws need to be changed. 8 years 3 months ago #4641

• dointime
  • dointime's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 474
Everywhere that I look to try and understand the current worldwide rationing of brand name hepC drugs, I ultimately come upon the patent laws. Look, I understand the need for patent laws. I do. I am not a patent lawyer and my understanding may be seen as childishly simplistic by those who are, but here's what I do understand. The letter of the law may be being upheld by the patent protection afforded to Gilead, but justice is not being served. In fact, what Gilead is doing is a travesty of justice.

Here we have a case of governments around the world falling down on their duties to maintain the Public Health. We have a runaway epidemic of hepC with deaths under reported, in some cases I suspect deliberately so. It's just too easy to record the immediate cause of death, eg liver failure, and omit to mention that hepC was underlying.

In countries that have social healthcare, eg the UK, the social contract is that the citizens pay in as they are able and the medical services are available as needed. Paying in is not voluntary, it is mandatory and it is not an insignificant amount. People generally agree to it because they are thinking that there might come a time when they too will need the medical services and those services will then be there for them. They don't expect to be told "Sorry mate, we can't afford to treat you right now and we don't know when we will be able to. We have to ration these drugs because of the price".

In a country like the US where the medical insurers foot the medical bills of the majority of their citizens it comes to the same thing. People sign legal contracts with these insurers but those insurers don't come up with the goods when needed.