• Page:

TOPIC:

Once upon a time... 8 years 3 months ago #3588

• DrJames
  • DrJames's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 7263
Once upon a time it used to be OK to call a spade a spade. In fact Australia and Australians' used to take pride in it. Now it seems we have been cowered into submission in a blancmange of political correctness.

The thing I love about this forum is that it's real, raw, uncensored, warts and all. We do censor "buy my stuff" unrelated SPAM but other than that we let people tell is like they see it. Thanks to the mods for all your hard work BTW.

So WTF is RTFM?

I'm a doctor by trade but a programmer by passion. RTFM is a geek thing. Here's the meaning:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RTFM

Holy crap you can't say that. Well actually you can, and it needs to be said.

It might seem harsh but today I had a lot of people ask for their blood results days before they could possibly be available. I had a lot of other people ask for things that are answered on this site in the FAQs or the GP Cheat Sheet or the Genotype Specific Treatments .

All these things are important but I also had a handful of patients who needed urgent attention but were in danger of being drowned in the noise.

There are two search tools on this site. Sadly they are separate. You can search the forum from the search tab. You can search the site from the top bar. Please do that before you ask directly. Think about this: 1000 patients asking a quick 1 minute question a day takes over 16 hours and leaves no time for anything else. No I don't get 1000, but I do get over 300 emails a day.

I've noticed that only a few people seem to read the blog . There is quite a bit of speculation on the forum about stuff that is already detailed there.

BTW I have way over 10x patients than have completed the polls so if you have not put your results in please do.

Thanks for reading.
YMMV